

Delhi Electricity Regulatory Commission <u>Viniyamak Bhawan, 'C' Block, Shivalik, Malviya Nagar, New Delhi – 17.</u>

F.3(741)/Tariff/DERC/2024-25/8299

In the matter of: Allocation of Power from NHPC (Parbati-II, Teesta-VI & Rangit-IV) among Delhi DISCOMs.

State Load Despatch Centre
Through its: General Manager
33 kV Sub Station, Minto RoadTagore Road,

New Delhi – 110 002

BSES Yamuna Power Limited

Through its : CEO Shakti Kiran Building, Karkardooma Delhi 110 032

New Delhi Municipal Council

Through its: Secretary
Palika Kendra, Sansad Marg
New Delhi – 110 001

BSES Rajdhani Power Limited

Through its: CEO BSES Bhawan, Nehru Place, New Delhi-110019

Tata Power Delhi Distribution Ltd.

Through its: Managing Director Sub-Station Building, Hudson Lane, Kingsway Camp Delhi 110 009

Coram:

Justice Umesh Kumar, Former Judge, Chairman, DERC Sh. Ram Naresh Singh, Member Sh. Surender Babbar, Member

ORDER

(Date of Order: 16.06.2025)

- 1. In exercise of powers under the proviso to Regulation 121(4) of the DERC (Terms and Conditions for Determination of Tariff) Regulations, 2017 which enables the Commission in reassigning the allocation of Power amongst the Distribution Licensees out of the overall power portfolio allocated to the National Capital Territory of Delhi by Ministry of Power, Government of India, the allocation of power from NHPC (Parbati-II, Teesta-VI & Rangit-IV), is hereby ordered as detailed hereunder.
- 2. The Commission has received a letter dated 11.03.2025 from the Department of Power, GoNCTD, requesting comments on the letter dated 25.02.2025 from the Hydel Division of Ministry of Power (Govt. of India), w.r.t the allocation of firm power from Dibang multipurpose project (2880 MW), Parbati-II (800 MW), Teesta-VI (500 MW), and Rangit-IV (120 MW) Hydro-electric projects of NHPC Ltd. and its subsidiary. In this regard a letter, dated 04.04.2025, of Allocation was sent to the DISCOMs of Delhi, SLDC and Department of Power, GoNCTD.

3. Ministry of Power, GOI, has allocated 62 MW Power to Delhi from three Hydro-Electric Projects as follows:

Plant Name	Capacity (MW)	Allocated to Delhi (MW)	Share in installed capacity (%)	Indictive Tariff (Rs./kWh)
Parbati-II	800	39	4.88	6.14
Teesta-VI	500	17	3.40	4.07
Rangit-IV	120	6	5.00	4.37
Total	1420	62	4.37	

- 4. In this regard, a meeting was scheduled with DISCOMs which was attended by representatives from TPDDL, BRPL, BYPL and NDMC. The comments received from all the DISCOMs are summarized as follows:
 - a) BRPL, BYPL, and NDMC expressed willingness to procure power from all three NHPC Projects.
 - b) TPDDL expressed willingness to procure power only from Parbati-II.
 - c) All DISCOMs agreed that the power may be allocated in the ratio of energy drawl as per last five years' data.
- 5. The Commission, in order to finalise the allocation of Power to DISCOMs, has considered the average of DISCOM-wise Energy drawl data of past 5 years, i.e., for the period of FY 2019-20 to FY 2023-24 from the Annual Report of Delhi-SLDC, which is as follows:

DISCOM	Energy drawl by DISCOMs as per Delhi-SLDC Annual Report (MU)						
	FY 2019-20	FY 2020-21	FY 2021-22	FY 2022-23	FY 2023-24	Average	
TPDDL	9790.57	9012.83	9507.40	10695.37	10742.19	9949.67	
BRPL	13793.83	12257.52	12843.89	14553.26	14770.79	13643.86	
BYPL	7290.84	6460.58	6793.92	7605.71	7513.04	7132.82	
NDMC	1403.84	1092.96	1195.91	1346.52	1357.75	1279.40	
Total	32279.07	28823.88	30341.12	34200.86	34383.78	32005.74	
% share							
TPDDL	30.33%	31.27%	31.34%	31.27%	31.24%	31.09%	
BRPL	42.73%	42.53%	42.33%	42.55%	42.96%	42.62%	
BYPL	22.59%	22.41%	22.39%	22.24%	21.85%	22.30%	
NDMC	4.35%	3.79%	3.94%	3.94%	3.95%	3.99%	
Total	100%	100%	100%	100%	100%	100%	

- 6. In view of above, the Commission accords approval to the following:
 - a) 62 MW Power received from Parbati-II, Teesta-VI & Rangit-IV to the State of Delhi is allocated to Delhi Distribution Licensees, as follows:

(In MW)

Plant	Allocated Capacity to	TPDDL	BRPL	BYPL	NDMC
Name	Delhi				
Parbati-II	39	12	16	9	2
Teesta-VI	17	0	10	6	1
Rangit-IV	6	0	3	2	1
Total	62	12	29	17	4

- 7. Delhi SLDC and Distribution Licensees namely BRPL, BYPL, TPDDL and NDMC are directed to adhere to the above allocation and make suitable arrangements accordingly. Further, the said Distribution Licensees are directed to take necessary action for execution of PPA with NHPC.
- 8. Ordered accordingly.

Sd/-(Surender Babbar) Member

Sd/-(Ram Naresh Singh) Member Sd/-(Justice Umesh Kumar) Former Judge Chairman DERC